Click on the title for more information.

Postcards from the Past

The Sea GardenThose

The Christmas Angel

The Summerhouse

The Prodigal Wife

The Way We Were

Memories of the Storm

Echoes of the Dance

The Golden Cup

The Birdcage

The Children’s Hour

A Week in Winter

Forgotten Laughter

A Week in Winter

The Chadwick Trilogy

    Looking Forward

    Holding On

    Winning Through

Second Time Around

Starting Over

Hattie’s Mill

The Dipper

The Courtyard

Thea’s Parrot

Those Who Serve

Second Time Around
Kingsbridge sits at the head of an estuary that meets the sea at Salcombe.

Mathilda Rainbird, the elderly, highly intelligent if unusual unmarried daughter of a marine biologist, lives in her odd three storied house in a cove on the South Devon coast. She owns a cottage, also in the cove, which she lets to Isobel Stangate in return for a modest rental and help around the house. Isobel, having left her husband to have a mad fling with a lover only to regret it all almost at once, remains estranged from both her husband and her beloved daughter.

Mathilda, suffering from terminal cancer, decides to take matters into her own hands. She has no close relatives and instructs James Barrington (now working in a Plymouth practice) to make out a new will leaving the cove to three cousins, none of whom knows her nor each other. Satisfied with having made these arrangements she takes out her launch one night . . .

The three beneficiaries are: Tessa Rainbird, an orphan in her early twenties; Will Rainbird, a retired widowed diplomat who has been living in Switzerland; Beatrice Holmes, recently retired school matron. Will and Tessa both fall in love with the cove and wish to keep it. Beatrice is less sure that this is possible. Life is complicated by Tessa becoming engaged to Sebastian, the brother of one of her school friends, and then falling in love with Giles Webster.

To read an Extract CLICK HERE

To read an Extract CLICK HERE